Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
18 little known facts about the PGA Championship!

18 little known facts about the PGA Championship!

18 little known facts about the PGA Championship!

Golf Chats is a website to encourage discussions on various subjects relating to the game of golf. I am Mel Sole, Director of Instruction of the Mel Sole Golf School and SAPGA Master Professional.  I invite you to enter into a discussion on this or any article on the website.  The input is for the entire subscriber base to learn something new each time!  Please post your comments below.  Keep it clean and tasteful.  We are here to learn from one another!

The 97th PGA Championship takes place from August 13–16, 2015, at Whistling Straits on the Straits Course in Kohler, Wisconsin. This will be the third PGA Championship at Whistling Straits, which was previously hosted in 2004 and 2010 (both won in playoffs), and the United States Senior Open in 2007. All of these prior events were held on the Straits Course.

Thanks to for this list of cool facts about this fourth major.

18 little known facts about the PGA Championship!

The Wanamaker Trophy has been won by seven different golfers for the past eight years.

Let the countdown to the PGA Championship begin (if it hasn’t already).

The first group tees off at Whistling Straits in just 18 days, a very familiar number to golfers. In honor of that, we present to you 18 facts to keep in mind for when play gets under way in Kohler, Wis.

Oh, and to add a special twist to this preview, all the numbers reflect how many days we are until the start of the first round. Feel free to read this however you want — whether you want to binge-read it, or save it as a page-a-day calendar. We won’t judge.

18: The lowest score under par in PGA Championship history is 18-under par.

Only three times in event history has a player shot -18,  twice by Tiger Woods — yet one of those times it wasn’t enough to win. In 2000, both Woods and Bob May reached that mark, but Woods won in a three-hole playoff.

Related: Facts about Whistling Straits

17: The last time the PGA Championship was held at Whistling Straits was in 2010.

Martin Kaymer won it in a playoff after finishing the four rounds and playoff with 17 birdies on his scorecard.

16: In a thrilling finish to last year’s event, Rory McIlroy won at Valhalla with a score of 16-under.

15: It has been 15 years since a golfer has won three majors in one year (Tiger Woods, 2000).

Jordan Spieth would tie that mark if he can win the PGA Championship.

14: There are 14 water hazards at Whistling Straits.

13: The PGA Championship has gone to a playoff 13 times since stroke play was introduced in 1958.

In 2011 when Keegan Bradley beat Jason Dufner.

12: There are 12 months until the 2016 PGA Championship.

The PGA had to move the event up to July 28-31 to accomodate for golf’s return to the Olympics.

11: The last time the Championship was held at Whistling Straits.

Kaymer and Bubba Watson went to a playoff after posting a score of 11-under after 72 holes. Kaymer ended up winning the three-hole playoff with an even-par score.

10: Golfers from 10 different countries have won the PGA Championship.

The U.S. leads the way with 78; Australia is next with four; England, South Africa, ZImbabwe, Fiji and Northern Ireland each have two; Ireland, South Korea and Germany have one.

Check out the rest of these interesting facts here.

Source : Andrew Prezioso

Pictures: PGA of America   Johns Creek

Thanks for reading – 18 little known facts about the PGA Championship!

Related Posts.

5 Great Shots from the PGA Championship – Check out #1!

20 Club Pros at Whistling Straits – A dream come true!

Who are the top 10 players without a Major – Augusta is calling!

Whistling Straits with 1012 Bunkers – Watch out, Dustin Johnson!


Tags: , , ,