Search

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Posts Tagged ‘Back9Network’

Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing - Give me a Break!

Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing – Give me a Break!

Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing – Give me a Break!

Golf Chats is a website to encourage discussions on various subjects relating to the game of golf. I am Mel Sole, Director of Instruction of the Mel Sole Golf School and SAPGA Master Professional.  I invite you to enter into a discussion on this or any article on the golfchats.com website.  The input is for the entire subscriber base to learn something new each time!  Please post your comments below.  Keep it clean and tasteful.  We are here to learn from one another!

In 2016 the USGA did amend Rule 6-6d. A player who inadvertently does not assess himself a penalty because he did not know a breach is no longer disqualified and instead is assessed a two-stroke penalty.  The problem with this new rule is that the USGA made the rule to prevent amateurs who don’t know all of the rules from being disqualified from a tournament.  

Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing – Give me a Break!

The problem I have is that this is their living when it comes to PGA Tour players, and I feel they should know the rules.  

A lawyer cannot go into court, make a mistake, and say to the judge, I didn’t know that rule.  He would look ridiculous!  This brings me back to a statement I have mentioned before.  I think the pros and the amateurs should have different rules and different equipment!  Now I know I am opening a can of worms here, but I think it’s crazy when Pat Perez hits the ball in a water hazard and says he did not know that there was a penalty!  This opens the door for pros in the future to avoid disqualification and automatically say they did not know the rule, no matter how basic it is.

I would love to hear feedback on this subject.  Please post your comments below!  Thanks to Chris Chaney, Wrong Fairway of Back9Network, for this thought-provoking article!

Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing - Give me a Break!  

As the PGA Tour returns to the Waste Management Phoenix Open this week, a.k.a. the Greatest Show on Grass, the Rules Junkie harkens back to Pat Perez’s rules run-in and subsequent disqualification from the event in 2013.

Perez’s DQ is worth revisiting for a few reasons, but mostly so we can get a better grasp on the truly confounding changes made to Rule 6-6d in the 2016 edition of the Rules of Golf. The amendment to 6-6d forgives ignorance of the rules, but still penalizes someone in Perez’s predicament when a clerical error has been made.

The dispatch from the scene via Golf Channel.

With the projected cut currently hovering at 3 under, Perez’s rounds of 72-72 left him at 2 over, unlikely to advance. When he incorrectly signed for an even-par 71 in the second round, though, he earned himself an early exit from the event.

The hole at issue was the short par-4 17th, where Perez ran into trouble despite a drive that left him less than 50 yards to the hole. After his approach went into the water behind the green, he ultimately two-putted for a double bogey 6. Perez signed for a 5 on the hole, however, and was disqualified as a result.

One of the four major changes to the Rules effective Jan. 1, 2016 was the “Limited Exception to Disqualification Penalty for Submission of Incorrect Score Card.” The USGA explained it as follows:

The PGA introduces a new exception.

Rule 6-6d (Wrong Score for Hole) to provide that a player is not disqualified for returning a lower score for a hole than actually taken as a result of failing to include penalty strokes that the player did not know were incurred before returning the score card. Instead, the player incurs the penalty under the Rule that was breached.  And must add an additional penalty of two strokes for the score card error. In all other cases in which a player returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, the penalty will continue to be disqualification.

The amendment allows for leeway when it comes to being blatantly ignorant of a rule, but not for writing an incorrect number down. The rule states, “the competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score he writes down for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as returned stands.”

To read the rest of this story on understanding this confusing rule, go here!

Source:  Chris Chaney, Wrong Fairway    Back9Network

Pictures: Twitter/@GolfweekMag

Thanks for reading – Ignorance of the Rules is a Good Thing – Give me a Break!

Related Posts.

Getting Fairway Bunker shots onto the green with Pat Perez!

This is a Rule of Golf everyone should know – but most don’t!

Do Golfers Completely Understand the Rules of Golf – Part 2!

An easy way to save shots on the golf course – Know the rules!

12 of the Craziest Rules decisions in the History of Golf!

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Jordan Spieth's Portrait in Golf Balls - How Cool is That!

Jordan Spieth’s Portrait in Golf Balls – How Cool is That!

Jordan Spieth’s Portrait in Golf Balls – How Cool is That!

Golf Chats is a website to encourage discussions on various subjects relating to the game of golf. I am Mel Sole, Director of Instruction of the Mel Sole Golf School and SAPGA Master Professional.  I invite you to enter into a discussion on this or any article on the golfchats.com website.  The input is for the entire subscriber base to learn something new each time!  Please post your comments below.  Keep it clean and tasteful.  We are here to learn from one another!

How would you like to have your portrait done?  In golf balls!  

Wow, this is a really cool idea that AT&T is doing for an advertising campaign starting November 4th, 2015.  If you are in the Dallas, TX area, go and check this out.  Thanks so much to Chris Chaney, Wrong Fairway of back9network.com and AT&T for sharing this! 

Jordan Spieth's Portrait in Golf Balls - How Cool is That!

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Lm Otero/AP/Shutterstock (6085421b)

It’s tough to say who had a better 2015 season, Jordan Spieth or his sponsors. Either way, things are heading in the right direction for the the 22-year-old Texan’s #brand.

One of Spieth’s most prominent sponsors, AT&T, has used its relationship with the top-ranked golfer in the world to do a bit of guerilla marketing at Main Street Gardens in downtown Dallas. The end product, a mosaic of Speith holding his follow through, is available for public viewing through Thursday, Oct. 29.

If you’re not sure how 24,152 golf balls can make a picture, here’s a time-lapse video to show you.

Each of the 24,000-plus AT&T-logo balls were placed on tees, utilizing the grass beneath them to create negative space and a shading element. The mosaic, which was put together by a team of 25 people, will be the basis for an ad campaign that will roll out on Nov. 4.

When the piece is broken down later this week, AT&T will be donate the balls to the Dallas chapter of The First Tee and the Northern Texas PGA. A nice gesture, to be sure, but where have we seen another Spieth sponsor possibly use upwards of a couple thousand golf balls…

Source: Chris Chaney, Wrong Fairway     back9network.com     AT&T

Picture: AT&T

Thanks for watching Jordan Spieth’s Portrait in Golf Balls – How Cool is That!

Related Posts.

Would you pay over $1 million for Golf Art – Maybe!

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!

Want a tee time at one of these courses - No Thanks!

Want a tee time at one of these courses – No Thanks!

Want a tee time at one of these courses – No Thanks!

Golf Chats is a website to encourage discussions on various subjects relating to the game of golf. I am Mel Sole, Director of Instruction of the Mel Sole Golf School and SAPGA Master Professional.  I invite you to enter into a discussion on this or any article on the golfchats.com website.  The input is for the entire subscriber base to learn something new each time!  Please post your comments below.  Keep it clean and tasteful.  We are here to learn from one another!

Why in the world would you want to book a tee time at a golf course that has land mines?  

Or crocodiles, or volcanoes.  No thank you very much.  I prefer to end my round with a cold one at the 19th hole in the clubhouse.  But, I suppose there are the thrill-seekers of the world who would appreciate this article by Back9Network.  Enjoy (or not).

When you think of dangerous sports, it is highly unlikely that golf is anywhere on that list. Auto racing, sure. Bull fighting? Absolutely. But golf? The relationship between golfer and crocodile has long been a tempestuous one. Recently there was an incident out of Cancun, and of course the famous Chubbs Peterson incident from “Happy Gilmore.”

Want a tee time at one of these courses - No Thanks!

But besides that, what perils could befall a golfer during their round? Volcanoes? Land mines? Yep. Those are just a few of the things that make these the 9 most dangerous golf courses in the world:

Lost City Golf Course in Sun City, South Africa

“What could be more enjoyable than playing a round of golf at an 18-hole desert-style golf course surrounded by spectacular views across South Africa’s wilderness?” asks the website for the Lost City Golf Course in Sun City, South Africa. I’ll tell you what, not getting eaten by Nile Crocodiles, that’s what. The 13th hole is filled with them. You’ll want to take at least one extra club to help defend yourself from the cold-blooded hazards that await you around that green. But hey, like your caddy or your mother, I can only make suggestions.

Legends Golf and Safari

Known as the toughest par 3 in the world, the “19th” hole at Legends Golf and Safari Resort in South Africa is also pretty dangerous. One false move and you’ll plummet to your death. Maybe it’s my fear of heights or flying, but if you’ve got to take a helicopter to the tee box and hit off the end of a cliff, it’s pretty harrowing. On top of that, only one person has ever made par on the hole and that was Back9′s own Padraig Harrington in 2008.

Camp Bonifas, South Korea

There are some people who don’t mind being around crocs, so perhaps they need a little more danger to keep them off the links. How about land mines? That’s right, land mines. Sure, the Camp Bonifas course isn’t so much a course; really, it’s just a 192-yard par 3 (in the middle of a demilitarized zone) on a South Korean military base. But the green is surrounded on three sides by mine fields. Like, actual, don’t-step-on-me-or-you’ll-blow-off-a-limb-land mines. Hell bunker doesn’t seem so scary now, does it?

Merapi Golf Club, Indonesia

In Hawaii, you can play golf and visit active volcanoes. In Indonesia, you can do both simultaneously! The Merapi Golf Club is nestled right at the base of Merapi Volcano and, for those of you who (unlike me) aren’t amateur volcanologists, it is one of the more active volcanoes on earth. Smoke can be seen billowing from the top of the cone nearly 300 days out of the year and it erupts fairly regularly, most recently in 2010. A round at Merapi will most likely yield some awesome vacation pictures, but remember, if you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time, it’ll be one of the more awkward phone calls home you’ve made in a while.

Arikikapakapa Rotura Golf Course, New Zealand

Playing this course isn’t necessarily dangerous, unless you’re fully aware of just how dangerous geologically unstable land really is. For instance, Yellow Stone National Park is a super volcano capable of destroying most of the northern hemisphere and creating nuclear winter at any moment … bet you didn’t know that either, huh? Okay, maybe I’m a little paranoid, but it must be a bit strange smelling sulfur all afternoon. In addition, there are a number of geysers around the course which, clearly, are free-drop areas — unless you want to risk walking across an active geyser. Your choice.

Check out the other 5 Most Dangerous Golf Courses right here!

Source: Back9Network.

Pictures: Getty Images

Thanks for reading/watching Want a tee time at one of these courses – No Thanks!

Related Posts.

6 of Tigers’ best shots ever – #3 is Tiger Wood’s pick!

The Top Ten Wine producing Professional Golfers!

The Top 10 Best Bets of Las Vegas Golf Courses.

Can the restoration of Muni Courses Help Grow the Game?

Teeing the ball up correctly will make all the difference!

PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY CHANNEL, LIKE THIS VIDEO, SHARE IT WITH A FRIEND, LEAVE A COMMENT!